Skip to main content
Language Banner

Language Testing

Language testing is offered for USU students in the Languages, Philosophy and Communication Studies Department. You can set up an appointment in Main 204, 435-797-1209, or darla.moore@usu.edu. We offer testing Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 8:30 am-3:30pm. We test in the following languages: Arabic, Mandarin Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish. The placement tests are for the lower division classes. Portuguese and Korean Speakers need to contact our office. The testing fee is $35. You pay for the test at the registers office (TSC 246) or contact darla.moore@usu.edu to pay online. If you pck up the form for the test payment in Main 204 or make a copy from the webpage. The test must be paid for before you take the test. Bring the payment form, receipt, and a photo ID with you when you come to take the test. You need to have an appointment to take the test.


We are not testing in June 2021.  The only place you can take the placement test in June  is USU SLC testing in Taylorsville.  All testing will resume on July 1st.

Logan Campus,
Old Main 204 Fall-Spring Semester testing hours are Tuesday, Wednesdays, and Thursday from 8:30-3:30 pm. Testing fee is $35.. Logan Testing tests for Spanish, French, German, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic and the BYU Flats Test (contact us on how to sign up for the Flats test). Contact us on information about Portuguese.   If you emaill darla.moore@usu.edu to set up an appointment include your name, USU A number, what language you will be testing for. We test for Spanish, French, German, Russian, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese and I’m certified to proctor the BYU Flats test in Logan.

USU SLC Testing Center testing hours are Monday thru Thursday  8 a.m. closing at 5 p.m.,  Friday 8 a.m. closing at 5 pm. Last testing appointment is two hours before closing. Call Matthew Fox at  (435) 797-4233) to make an appointment. SLC testing center has changed locations, they are located at 920 West LeVoy Drive, Taylorsville, UT 84123. The fee is $35. When you test at Taylorsville you need arrange the $35 testing fee with Matthew Fox and it will be paid online. SLC can test for Spanish, German, French and Russian. Contact Logan for other languages.

Language Testing Form for Logan Campus


I’m proctoring 1 test at a time. We require that the person coming to take the test wears a mask. Staff will also be wearing a mask. Masks are not simply for self-protection, they help avoid spreading anything to others and are a sign of respect and concern for others. Without a mask you cannot take the test. We will be practicing social distancing while you are there to test. You will be asked to show a photo id.

If you have any of the symptoms of COVID-19, fever, cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, muscle aches and chills, or decreased sense of smell or taste, you will need to re-book your appointment.


TO TAKE LANGUAGE TEST ANY PLACE BESIDES LOGAN CAMPUS OR SLC TESTING CENTER YOU HAVE TO DO IT THROUGH DARLA MOORE AT darla.moore@usu.edu or 435-797-1209. She can give you the information to help set up a test closer to where you are. Darla has to be in the office when you are taking the test so the hours and day for taking a proctored test would be the same as listed above.

If you are attending one of the following USU campuses here are the names and information of proctors you can contact to help you work with Darla Moore to be able to proctor the test with them.
Blanding-- Alan Dennis  alan.dennis@usu.edu  435-678-8171
Brigham City--Della Burwell della.burwell@usu.edu  435-919-1221
Kaysville--Susan Seibert susan.seibert@usu.edu  801-259-7432
Moab-------Joan Miller joan.miller@usu.edu or Karen Feary karen.feary@usu.edu  435-259-7432
Orem--------Tatyana felt  tanya.felt@usu.edu   435-797-5374
Price--------Cathrin Alaei  cathrin.alaei@usu.edu  435-613-5325
Tooele------Melissa Lawrence melissa.lawrence@usu.edu  435-797-9898
Vernal------Tanis Jensen  tanis.jensen@usu.edu  435-722-1777

Language Testing Information
BYU Flats Testing
Arabic Test
Chinese Test
French Test
German Test
Japanese Test
Russian Test
Spanish Test

Changes in Policy for Credit by Advanced Coursework, and Departmental Language Exams